MADD Canada’s Citizen of Distinction Award is presented to individuals or groups or organizations that have made a major contribution to the anti-drinking and driving movement in Canada. To qualify for this award, the individual, group or organization should belong to one or more of the categories i.e. Research, Prevention and/or Education, Legal Issues and Victim Issues. This award is limited to a total of five (5) awards per calendar year.


Alberta Transportation Office of Traffic Safety

Crashed car at the side of the road

Dedicated to road safety, the Alberta Transportation Office of Traffic Safety continually strives to develop innovative, impactful ways to educate the public about not driving impaired.

This year, they approached MADD Parkland Chapter with an idea for a new awareness project – to have a crashed car on display to illustrate the consequences of driving impaired by alcohol or drugs. A real crashed car, wrapped with a message about not driving impaired, was towed to various locations in the community. The display provides drivers with a strong visual reminder about the dangers and consequences of impaired driving. It is an eye-opening display that makes people stop and think, and is a conversation-starter for families and friends. The smashed car moves every 2 weeks to a new high-traffic area, increasing the number of people who see it.

This project has sent a very impactful message to the community about impaired driving. It is also very moving for victims/survivors, many of whom have reached out to MADD Canada to express their thanks for this powerful display that shines a spotlight on the problem of impaired driving.


Halton Regional Police Service, Halton Region, Ontario

The Honourable Joe Hargrave, Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Government Insurance

Peter Hogg, Scholar in Residence at Blake Cassels and Graydon LLP and Professor Emeritus at Osgoode Hall Law School

Carolyn Swinson, Ontario East Director, MADD Canada National Board of Directors

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada


Cara Grosset and Impact Auto Auctions


Dr. Robert Mann – Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto Ontario Yukon Liquor Corporation


Alberta Transportation and RCMP K Division Ontario Ministry of Transportation


The Honourable Mike Nixon, Minister of Justice, Yukon LCBO Irving Oil Manitoba Public Insurance RTL Westcan Group of Companies


The Honourable Robert Vessey, Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal, Prince Edward Island Laurie McCurlie, Partner/Producer, MJM Media Allstate Insurance Company of Canada


Maria Soklis, Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, KIA Canada Ted Emanuels, Officer in Charge, Lower Mainland District Traffic Services, RCMP


Felix Comeau, Chairman and CEO of Alcohol Countermeasure Systems (ACS) Ward Keith, Registrar of Motor Vehicles for Manitoba Public Insurance (MPI) and Executive Director, Drive Safety and Regulatory Control Steve Martin, Superintendent of Motor Vehicles for the Province of British Columbia


Senator Marjory LeBreton, Leader of the Government in the Senate Bill Kennedy, Executive Director, Corporate Communications, LCBO The Honourable Ron MacKinley, Minister of Transportation and Public Works for Prince Edward Island Dana Clendenning, President and CEO, New Brunswick Liquor Corporation Dr. Diane Liscumb


Minister Rob Nicholson


Dr. Irwin Cohen from Vancouver, BC Karen Middlecote from Toronto, ON Joan McLeod from Edmonton, AB


Dr. Roy Purssell, Vancouver, BC Sherry Caves, Vancouver, BC


Doug Mayhew & CAA North and East Ontario Cst. Gerry Wiskstead Dr. Stephen Fleming The Late Chuck Cadman


Ken J. Davies, Vancouver, British Columbia


John Banovich, White Rock, British Columbia


Ian Marples Allan McIntyre Heather McCaig Wendy Reynolds


Connie Bates Robert Soloman Roger F. Cutler Sharon-Lee Wideman Canadian Medical Association


In 2000, MADD Canada recognized four individuals as the organization’s early pioneers who played a significant role in getting the various regional anti-drinking and driving movements organized in Canada. These four individuals are not an exclusive list to the pioneer classification.

John Bates
Margaret Taylor
Gladys Armstrong
Sally Gribble (posthumously)