The Volunteer of the Year Award is presented annually at MADD Canada’s Chapter Leadership Conference to recognize an outstanding volunteer contribution. The Award recognizes individuals within MADD Canada who demonstrate volunteerism by a self-sacrificial giving of their time and talents in pursuit of our mission without expectation of reward. To be eligible the individual must be a member of MADD Canada and must be nominated by a Chapter or a member of the National Board.

  • For a copy of the application form, click here (PDF)

2020 National Winner

Connie Hagel, MADD Estevan Community Leader


Connie jumped into her role as Estevan Community Leader quickly and has not stopped since. She has organized several community events, distributed MADD Canada information and ribbons, conducted presentations to the Mayor and Council and local police detachments, participated in several check stops and much more.

She created and launched the first Campaign 911 – Impaired Driver Caught Here mobile signs. She places these signs at locations where impaired drivers have been charged. Each week, Connie receives a list of locations where impaired drivers were charged, and places signs at those locations. This creative and innovative project has received positive feedback from the police and the community.

She also helped launch the first police awards in Saskatchewan in 2019, organized the presentation ceremony and personally presented the awards to winning officers in Estevan and Weyburn. The detachments truly appreciated Connie efforts.

Connie is a one-person show. She does it all on her own, keeps a positive attitude and is building a dynamic and impactful MADD Canada presence in the community.

Past recipients of the Volunteer of the Year Award

1995 Lillian and Dean Pegg, MADD Windsor and Essex County
1996 Norma King, MADD Halton Region
1997 Stephanie and Bill Dooley, MADD Halton Region
1998 Geraldine Dedrick, MADD Halifax Regional
1999 Theresa-Anne Kramer, MADD Montreal
2000 Pat Dutton, MADD Annapolis Valley
2001 Lindsay Hoshal, MADD St. Thomas Chapter
2002 Carolyn Swinson. MADD Toronto
2003 Denise Dubyk, MADD Calgary, AB
2004 Laurie Dinning, MADD Huron/Bruce County
2005 Sandra Henderson, MADD Waterloo Region
2006 Dianne Garner, MADD Upper Fraser Valley, BC
2007 Jerry Smits, MADD Cape Breton, NS
2008 Josephine Gaulton-Rowe, MADD Labrador West, NL
2009 Jason Larkin, MADD Barrie/Simcoe, ON
2010 Charline Manuel, MADD Kent County, NB
2011 Chaouki Hamka, MADD Windsor & Essex County Community Leader, ON
2012 Margaret Miller, MADD Cobequid, NS
2013 Daniela Martinson, Whitehorse, Yukon
2014 Russell Stewart, MADD Charlottetown Chapter, Prince Edward Island
2015  Donald Slaney, MADD Burin Peninsula and Avalon Chapters
2016 Amanda Price – MADD Whitehorse
2017 – Sharon Allen, MADD Fort Simpson, Northwest Territories
2018 – Anita Huchala, MADD Lethbridge & Area, Alberta
2019 – Danielle Cole, MADD Greater Fredericton

Past Regional Award Winners


BC/Yukon Region: Norm Prince, MADD North Island
Western Region: Denise Dubyk, MADD Calgary
Ontario East Region: Nancy Codlin, MADD Durham
Ontario West Region: Gary MacDonald , MADD London
Atlantic Region: Mike Higgs, MADD Halifax and Region.


British Columbia/Yukon Region:Bob Rorison, MADD Greater Vancouver
Prairie Provinces/Northwest Territories Region:Bob Hykaway, MADD Medicine Hat
Ontario West Region Award: Laurie Dinning, MADD
Huron/Bruce Ontario East Region Award: Helen Fleming, MADD Dufferin County
Atlantic Region: Paul King, MADD Annapolis Valley


BC/Yukon Region: Helen Hoeflicker, MADD Greater Vancouver
Prairie Provinces/NWT/Nunavut Region: Greg Miller, MADD Edmonton & Area
Ontario West Region: Sandra Henderson, MADD Waterloo Region
Ontario East Region: Gregg Thomson, MADD Ottawa Chapter
Quebec Region: Eric Sicotte, MADD Montreal
Atlantic Region: Kathleen Foster-Alfred, MADD Cobequid


BC/Yukon Region: Dianne Garner, MADD Upper Fraser Valley, BC
Prairie Provinces/NWT/Nunavut Region: Michelle Meshen, MADD Medicine Hat, AB
Ontario East Region: Fran and Bill Charlton, MADD Quinte, ON
Atlantic Region: Nick Denny, MADD Cape Breton, NS


BC/Yukon Region: Christine Rundell, MADD Victoria & Area, BC
Prairie Provinces/NWT/Nunavut Region: Joan McLeod, MADD Edmonton and Area, AB
Ontario West Region: Kim Henry, MADD Waterloo Region, ON
Ontario East Region: Kim Butler, MADD Barrie/Simcoe, ON
Quebec Region: Jason Dubeau, MADD Upper Laurentians, QC
Atlantic Region: Jerry Smits, MADD Cape Breton, NS


Prairie Provinces/NWT/Nunavut Region – Dave Hall, MADD Edmonton & Area
Ontario West Region – Lesley Read, MADD Thunder Bay
Ontario East Region – Elizabeth Simser, MADD Kawartha Lakes
Quebec Region – Carole Giroux, MADD Beauce
Atlantic Region – Josephine Gaulton-Rowe, MADD Labrador West


BC/Yukon Region – Bob Rorison, MADD Metro Vancouver, BC
Ontario East Region – Jason Larkin, MADD Barrie/Simcoe, ON
Quebec Region – James Lawler, MADD Montreal Chapter
Atlantic Region – Gloria MacNeill, MADD East Prince County, PE