The Victim Services Volunteer of the Year Award was created in 2003 to recognize volunteers within MADD Canada who exemplify compassion, dedication, diligence, caring empathy and respect for those who have suffered a loss due to an impaired driving crash. The individuals volunteer their time to support victims of impaired driving, as well as advocate on their behalf. Expectations are exceeded to ensure victims and their families receive the emotional, practical, and legal assistance they deserve.

For more information about the award or nomination forms, click here (PDF).

2020 Victim Services Volunteer

Patricia Hynes-Coates


Patricia and her family became involved with MADD Avalon in 2013 shortly after the death of her stepson Nicholas. Patricia completed the Victim Services Volunteer Training and has since been supporting victims and survivors in her community.

Patricia consistently reaches out to victims and survivors in her area, provides court accompaniment, provides face-face support, as well as telephone support. Trish has chaired the local candlelight vigil, performing many tasks to ensure the event goes smoothly.

Despite her own personal loss, Patricia is a constant support for others. She is genuine in her efforts to help, and her thoughtfulness and warmth towards others knows no bounds.

Her dedication and efforts on behalf of MADD Canada include a term as the National President for MADD Canada. Her compassion, her drive and, above all, her dedication to victims and survivors, made her a powerful and moving voice for all who have suffered a tragic loss or sustained a injury as a result of impaired driving.

Previous Winners

2019 John MacLeod, Halifax Regional Chapter

2018 Gregg Thomson, Ottawa, Ontario

2017 John McLeod, MADD Halifax Regional, Nova Scotia

2016  Tracy Franklin, MADD Calgary

2015 Jessica Rawcliffe, MADD Ottawa Chapter

2014 Eva Gainer, MADD Central Okanagan, British Columbia

2013 National Winner – Gillian Phillips, Edmonton, Alberta

2012 National Winner – Anissa Aldridge, MADD Halifax Region, NS

2011 National Winner – Karen Dunham – MADD Saint John Chapter, NB

2010 National Winner – Janet Mason – MADD South Eastern New Brunswick

2009 National Winner – Karen Dunham – MADD Saint John, NB

2009 BC/Yukon Region – Marita Maas, MADD Metro Vancouver, BC

2009 Atlantic Region – Karen Dunham, MADD Saint John, NB

2008 National Winner Stephanie Dooley – MADD Halton Region, ON

2008 BC/Yukon Region – Sharon Graham, MADD Upper Fraser Valley, BC

2008 Ontario East Region – Kim Butler, MADD Barrie/Simcoe

2008 Ontario West Region – Stephanie Dooley, MADD Halton Region

2008 Quebec Region – Jason Dubeau, MADD Upper Laurentians

2008 Atlantic Region – Lori Walsh, MADD Charlottetown

2007 National Winner Tammy Milne, MADD Brandon, MB

2007 Prairie Provinces/NWT/Nunavut Region – Tammy Milne, MADD Brandon, MB

2007 Atlantic Region – Janet Mason, MADD South Eastern New Brunswick, NB

2006 National Winner Nick Denny, MADD Cape Breton, NS

2006 Ontario West Region – Colin Senior, MADD Manitoulin Island, ON

2006 Atlantic Region – Nick Denny, MADD Cape Breton, NS